SENATE COMMITTEES

APPROPRIATIONS

Who are we?

The Appropriations Committee is here to assist with student club and organization funding needs. Please reference the Club Funding tab for further information on all things Appropriations. 

 

What are some examples of funding?

Under this committee, there are two types of funding cycles student clubs and organizations are able to apply for: General and Event funding. Please reference the funding website for the deadlines of these cycles.

 

When do we meet?

TBD

What are the Appropriations Committee Rules?

View the committee rules here.

 

Derek Baranski

Finance Director

dbaransk@asu.edu

Ching Yin (Kelvin)Luk

Appropriations Committee Co-Chair

cluk3@asu.edu

Kylie Vacala

Appropriations Committee Member 

kvacala@asu.edu

Jason Tinti

Appropriations Committee Member 

jtinti@asu.edu

Nathaniel Anbar

Appropriations Committee Co-Chair

nanbar@asu.edu

Alexia Isais

Appropriations Committee Member

amisais@asu.edu

Tanner Huack

Appropriations Committee Member

tchauck@asu.edu

FINANCE

Who are we?

The Finance committee is responsible for serving the undergraduate student body at ASU’s Tempe campus through funding, which directly affects academic and professional development. 

What is our role? 

The role of the Finance committee has extended to reviewing travel applications, which awards funding to students to attend conferences, competitions, and other related events that promote development through learning outside the classroom.

 

When do we meet?

TBD

 

Derek Baranski

Finance Director

dbaransk@asu.edu

Natalie Ibarra

Appropriations Committee Member

nibarra6@asu.edu

Alyssa Hollingsworth

Appropriations Committee Chair

anholli1@asu.edu

Daniel Lopez

Appropriations Committee Member

drlopez8@asu.edu 

Zach Snider

Appropriations Committee Member

zsnider@asu.edu

GOVERNMENT OPERATIONS

Who are we?

The Government Operations Committee is responsible for overseeing USG operations in accordance with the governing documents.  

What is our role? 

We provide revisions, guidance, and understanding of the governing documents, including the USG Constitution, USG Bylaws, Elections Code, Senate Rules of Order, and Standing Rules. We are happy to assist in the writing or revision of your organization's governing documents.

 

When do we meet?

Via Zoom at 6:00 PM every other Wednesday on the following dates:

  • 8/26/2020 Wed 6:00 PM

  • 9/9/2020 Wed 6:00 PM

  • 9/23/2020 Wed 6:00 PM

  • 10/07/2020 Wed 6:00 PM

  • 10/21/2020 Wed 6:00 PM

  • 11/04/2020 Wed 6:00 PM

  • 11/18/2020 Wed 6:00 PM

  • 12/02/2020 Wed 6:00 PM

What are the Government Operations Committee Rules? 

View the committee rules here

 

Cameron Decker

Government Operations Chair

cdecker7@asu.edu

Marco Huerta

Government Operations

mahuert3@asu.edu

Richard Robert Reithal

Government Operations rreithal@asu.edu

Izaac Mansfield

Government Operations

imansfie@asu.edu

UNIVERSITY AFFAIRS

 

Who are we?

The committee on University Affairs coordinates the research and investigation of issues important to the university and reports their findings and recommendations to the USG Tempe Senate through the drafting of appropriate legislation.

What is our role? 

The committee distributes student surveys, facilitates town halls, and conducts tabling events throughout campus each semester.

 

When do we meet?

TBD

Konya Saidu

University Affairs Co-Chair

bsaidu@asu.edu

Daiva Scovil

University Affairs

dscovil@asu.edu

Fabian Sanchez-Suarez

University Affairsfasanch3@asu.edu

Rachel Caldwell

University Affairs Co-Chairrlcaldw2@asu.edu

Yamilet Ibanez

University Affairsynunezib@asu.edu

Visit the Tempe Undergraduate Student Government staff on the second floor of the Student Pavilion. 

Student Pavilion (STPV)

400 E Orange Street

Tempe, AZ 85287

Can't make it into the office? Send us a message using the form below.